

30 years, and KICKING
This past week, I turned 30. While turning 30 is not the glamourous part, as the Valentine heart-shaped cake that my sister gave me can attest to, the events immediately leading up to it were awesome; and the festivities are still on-going!
I'M 30 FOO!
First, to kickoff 2007 (literally), I jetted off to AZ to attend
the 2007 BCS College Football Championship. As a former native of Ohio, I waited 19 years for the opportunity to go (well more like till I could afford it). The Ohio State Buckeyes vs. The Florida Gators. I went solo with intention of trying to meet folks and mingle during any pre-game parties I could find. While I only managed to engage in small talk with a bunch of people, the
the 2007 BCS College Football Championship. As a former native of Ohio, I waited 19 years for the opportunity to go (well more like till I could afford it). The Ohio State Buckeyes vs. The Florida Gators. I went solo with intention of trying to meet folks and mingle during any pre-game parties I could find. While I only managed to engage in small talk with a bunch of people, the experience was awesome! Everywhere I looked, red, red, red...and some blue (later I learned the OSU fans totally outnumbered the Gator fans). Then at random times, different crowds would chant "O--H!!!" and the corresponding response "I --O!!!" I couldn't risk getting drunk (then again, I've never been) since I didn't know anyone nor did I have my hotel address with me, so I just pretended. Ha ha, what the hay, it's FOOSBALL!!! During the game, the stadium was blistering loud, and luckily I sat in the OSU side of the stadium. However, the 2 people on my left, the 4 on my right and the 4 behind me were Gator fans. Out of the thousands of OSU fans, I had to pick the seat with Gator fans around me. Seriously, am I a magnet for the opposites attract. During the game, the cheering was blistering loud! It was unbelievable! But soon the tone changed as the Gators defense and short-pass offense chomped away at the Buckeye lines. Sadly, OSU got whooped-on 44-14. The relatively small Gator contingent were strong in spirit and play. I take my hat off to them...they showed up for the game.
Next up was snowboarding at Snowboarding at Big Bear. I was a bit nervous, as I hadn't gone in over 6 years, and at that time, due to improper footing, I nearly messed up my knees. Not to be repeated! This time I
triple checked and learned that I am a goofy footing. While there had been no snowfall for the couple weeks leading up to the day, Big Bear, and as only Big Bear can do, blew a ton of snow and I must say, it is a well kept place.With goofy footing, some cool friends, and tons of determination, we hit the slopes. I managed to fall a few times, but very lightly, and I was surprised that I was not that sore afterwards. To me it was a successful day, so much so that I plan to come back in a few weeks to continue the momentum. Look out X-Games!!! Big shout out to Henry & co. for setting up the outing and the great accommodations!
Superbowl Sunday. My cousin's wedding. What is wrong with the picture?
Well, I think my cousin got enough grief, and for the occasion, it is well worth the sacrifice to miss the big game. Thank God for Tivo!!! hee hee.
The wedding was at the beautiful La Venta Inn in Palos Verdes Estates, CA.
The family was out in full force: from Hong Kong to Canada, from the Bay Area to Irvine, we were out to have us a wedding!!! The scenery was postcard perfect.
And the kids were cute.
Too cute.And then...my big PHAT berfday. Here was my initiation:
First was dinner at Woodranch BBQ & Grill with my sis and cousin (super awesome tri-tip y'all). Thanks guys for dinner and some good 'ol family bonding. On the way back, my sister says, "um, the cake I got you might be a little inappropriate...it's not what I ordered, but oh well" (loose paraphrase of her actual words). Inappropriate? Well, I guess a Valentine heart cake (above) was not the first thing that came to mind. But we family-it's coo, it's coo.
Next a good friend from my previous company invited me over for dinner with their family to celebrate her husband's b-day. I was surprised when they also had a small little cake for me as well.
And then, they told me to take a bite without using my hands. They told me it was tradition. I said "huh?" They said just do it. I said "huh?". Then I did it, and got my face smashed into it. I shoulda seen that one coming. Ha ha, it was fun. I didn't plan on that happening until my wedding dayV & J, thanks so much for the awesome Columbian tamales and your geniune hospitality. I had a great time.
Next a bunch of other friends took me out to Cheesecake Factory at the one and only Irvine Spectrum. Friends from college, previous work and church graciously came out to spend time with me. And because many good things come in 3's...the restaurant smelled my name wrong on my cheesecake (above). For the night, my name was 'Kristin'.

Next a bunch of other friends took me out to Cheesecake Factory at the one and only Irvine Spectrum. Friends from college, previous work and church graciously came out to spend time with me. And because many good things come in 3's...the restaurant smelled my name wrong on my cheesecake (above). For the night, my name was 'Kristin'.
All you all, thanks very much for your kindness, generousity and friendships.

And then as I was about to turn 40...just kidding ( I swear, my friends are super generous), my friends from work threw me in to their victory dinner. The dinner was originally the result of a bet from a college football game this past season. MBI's Nebraska Cornhuskers vs. YY's USC Trojans. The Trojans won the game. Since it was busy at work, they didn't have a chance until last week to finally go. And, I was graciously invited by both to partake in their dinner, but as the berfday boy. I was knocked down one on the totem pole...I only got to eat the scraps. Just kidding! The venue was Mastro's Steakhouse. The steaks: Mastro-piece! Very fine dining and we had a good time. The most interesting thing we had were their wasabi mash potatoes.
Thanks MBI and YY for a great dinner and for allowing me to share a meal with you all. It is great working with you. (ooh, yikes...you can see my muffin top belly...that's gonna leave a mark..)
I still don't know what to say about turning 30. It hasn't hit me yet. It's like that thing where when you write your first check of the new year and you put last year's date on it out of habit. I still feel like I'm in 20's habit mode. When it finally does hit me, I will blog the play-by-play. What I will say is that, I am where I am because the good Lord has watched over me. He has put so many great people in my life, that it is a true blessing to know and feel that you are loved, accepted, the butt of some jokes, and valued. There are so many others that are not on this post that I want to give a shout to. Thank you all for your friendships. Good times. Good times.









No comments:
Post a Comment